Health Services and Policy Research (HSPR) Rising Star Early Career Award

Timeline and Funding

Application deadline To be confirmed
Anticipated notification of decision To be confirmed
Funding per award One $25,000 award is granted annually


IHSPR is dedicated to supporting early career researchers, and this award was established to recognize the excellence of the health services and policy researchers at an early stage in their career. This HSPR Rising Star Early Career award will be given to the highest ranking early-career investigator in CIHR’s Project Grant competition whose application is relevant to IHSPR’s mandate. This award is a supplemental grant to support research and/or knowledge mobilization.

Funds Available

  • The maximum amount available for this prize is $25,000, for a single award of $25,000 per annum for up to one (1) year.
  • The recipient may be invited by IHSPR to present their research at a national conference and must set aside $5,000 of funds for this purpose.

Eligibility and How to Apply

  • The award will be given to the highest ranked and eligible early-career investigator in CIHR’s Project Grant competition, that aligns with the Priority Announcement (Specific Research Areas) for the HSPR Rising Star Early Career Award”
  • The candidate must have selected Theme 3, Health Services/Systems Research, as the primary Theme in the Fall 2021 Project Grant competition.
  • The candidate must be an early career investigator at the time of the application deadline of the Project Grant competition; with the added qualification that all those who held ECR status as of March 1, 2020, or who secured their first academic appointment after this date, will have their status extended by one year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

For further details on eligibility requirements and how to apply, please visit the CIHR ResearchNet page and verify the latest Project Grant Priority Announcements (Specific Research Areas) for the HSPR Rising Star Early Career Award Priority Areas.

Previous Rising Star Award Recipients

Date modified: