Distinguished Lecturer Award in Critical Care Sciences

The CIHR-ICRH and the Canadian Critical Care Society (CCCS) have established an annual Distinguished Lecturer in Critical Care Sciences Award in recognition of an individual's outstanding contribution to the advancement of critical care sciences in Canada. The award will be presented to the selected candidate at the Canadian Critical Care Forum (CCCF), where the recipient gives a keynote lecture as part of the scientific program. The CCCF is Canada’s premier national meeting dedicated to the critical care profession and supports a collaborative multidisciplinary approach to promote research, education and patient care in Critical Care Medicine.


Dr. Maureen Meade - Recipient of the 2020 CIHR-ICRH/CCCS Distinguished Lecturer Award in Critical Care Sciences

Dr. Meade is a critical care physician at Hamilton Health Sciences and Professor of Medicine at McMaster University. She is a distinguished critical care scholar who has undertaken a large body of rigorous clinical research and mentored a number of outstanding early career investigators.

Dr. Meade led a 20-year research program dedicated to lung protective ventilation in Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome. She earned international acclaim spearheading 4 randomized trials and contributing to the Executive Committees and Data Safety Monitoring Boards of many more. Her research addressing PEEP strategies and high frequency oscillation have influenced recommendations in UptoDate and international ARDS guidelines. Dr. Meade’s 250 publications feature the New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet, JAMA, and the British Medical Journal.

Dr. Meade was the inaugural recipient of the Canadian Critical Care Trials Group Deborah J. Cook Mentorship Award. She has mentored more than 40 critical care researchers: masters students, PhDs, and junior faculty. Thirteen are presenting their work internationally, 10 hold peer-reviewed career awards and 9 lead multicentre trials.

In 2015, Dr. Meade launched Canada-DONATE, a new program of research focused on deceased organ donation. The aim of this program is to address the many difficult challenges unique to research in this emerging field, and to create a sustainable, national research platform to support clinical trials.

Dr. Meade attributes her academic successes to strong mentorship, inspired collaborators, and generous support from the Canadian Institutes for Health Research, the Canadian Critical Care Trials Group, and the Canadian Donation and Transplant Research Program.


Dr. Jacques Lacroix – Recipient of the 2019 CIHR-ICRH/CCCS Distinguished Lecturer Award in Critical Care Sciences

Jacques Lacroix is professor, Department of Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal. He is working at the Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Sainte-Justine and its Research Centre. He is teaching pediatric critical care medicine, general pediatrics and epidemiology. He co-founded the Pediatric Acute Lung Injury and Sepsis Investigators (PALISI) Network in 2002. He received the PALISI Leadership Award in 2014 and the “Deborah J. Cook Mentorship Award” (Canadian Critical Care Trials Group) in 2016. His main topics of research are transfusion medicine, trauma, and multiple organ dysfunction syndrome in critically ill children. He wrote 267 papers, 95 chapters, 294 abstracts, posters and free papers, and a textbook (Lacroix J, Gauthier M, Hubert P, Leclerc F, Gaudreault P, éds. Urgences et soins intensifs pédiatriques. 2e édition, Paris & Montreal: Massonn & Les Éditions de l’Hôpital Sainte-Justine, 2007:1368p). He gave 307 invited lectures, including 158 outside Canada. He completed three large randomized controlled trials, the TRIPICU study (N Engl J Med 2007;356:1609-19), the ABLE study (N Engl J Med 2015;372:110-8), and, with Marisa Tucci and Phil Spinella, the ABC-PICU trial (NCT01977547). Many international organizations have sought his expertise (Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development; National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute; Société de réanimation de langue française; Society of Critical Care Medicine). He was an Associate Editor of the journals Trials and Jornal de Pediatria, and is a Senior Editor of Pediatric Critical Care Medicine.


Dr. John Marshall – Recipient of the 2018 CIHR-ICRH/CCCS Distinguished Lecturer Award in Critical Care Sciences

John Marshall is a Professor of Surgery at the University of Toronto, a trauma surgeon and critical care physician at St. Michael’s Hospital, and a Senior Investigator in the Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science. His academic interests lie in the area of sepsis and life-threatening infection, trauma, and the host innate immune response to these. His CIHR-funded laboratory studies the cellular mechanisms that prolong neutrophil survival in critical illness by preventing neutrophil programmed cell death, or apoptosis. He has an active clinical research interest in sepsis and ICU-acquired infection, and in the design of clinical trials and outcome measures. He leads research programs in antimicrobial resistance and the treatment of post-resuscitation fluid overload in critically ill patients, and has been an active investigator in more than two dozen clinical trials. He has developed a widely used tool to measure organ dysfunction in the ICU, the Multiple Organ Dysfunction Score, and proposed the PIRO model as a method of stratifying critically ill patients using an approach similar to that used in staging cancer.

He has published more than 450 manuscripts and book chapters, and has been cited more than 90,000 times. He is the founding chair of the International Forum of Acute Care Trialists (InFACT) – a global network of 33 investigator-led critical care clinical research groups, vice-chair of the International Severe Acute Respiratory and Emerging Infections Consortium, and a member of the Executive Committee of the Global Sepsis Alliance. He is past-chair of the International Sepsis Forum, past-President of the Surgical Infection Society, past Sectreary-General of the World Federation of Societies of Intensive and Critical Care Medicine, and past-chair of the Canadian Critical Care Trials Group. He has given more than 1000 invited lectures at more than 500 meetings around the world, and is an Associate Editor of the journals Critical Care Medicine and Critical Care.

Date modified: