Canadian Research Centres on Aging & Other Associations

Province Centre Contacts

Alberta

Brenda Stafford Centre on Aging, O’Brien Institute for Public Health, University of Calgary
TRW 3E12, 3280 Hospital Drive NW
Calgary, AB T2N 4Z6
Tel: 403-210-7208
Fax: 403-210-3808

General information
bscoa@ucalgary.ca

Dr. David Hogan, Academic Lead
dhogan@ucalgary.ca

Ann Toohey, Research Manager
amtoohey@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Chantelle Zimmer, Project Coordinator
chantelle.zimmer@ucalgary.ca

British Columbia

Institute on Aging & Lifelong Health, University of Victoria
(formerly Centre on Aging)
P.O. Box 1700 Stn, CSC
Office: R Hut, Room 103
Victoria, BC V8W 2Y2
Tel: 250-721-6369 or
250-721-6575
Fax: 250-721-6499

General information
aging@uvic.ca

Dr. Scott Hofer, Director
IALHDirector@uvic.ca
smhofer@uvic.ca

Dr. Jo Ann Miller, Research Manager
IALHResearch@uvic.ca

Leah M. Potter, Administrator
IALHAdmin@uvic.ca

British Columbia

The Gerontology Research Centre, Simon Fraser University at Harbour Centre
2800-515 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 5K3
Tel: 604-291-5062
Fax: 604-291-5066

General information
gero@sfu.ca

Dr. Andrew Wister, Director
wister@sfu.ca

British Columbia

Science and Technology for Aging Research (STAR) Institute, Simon Fraser University Surrey Campus
Digital Health Hub
Central City Shopping Centre
13450 – 102nd Avenue, Suite 250
Surrey, BC V3T 0A3
Tel: 778-782-3111

General information
starinst@sfu.ca

Dr. Andrew Sixsmith, Director
ajs16@sfu.ca

Dr. Carolyn Sparrey, Associate Director
csparrey@sfu.ca

Dr. Sylvain Moreno, Associate Director
sylvainm@sfu.ca

Juliet Neun-Hornick, Administrative Coordinator
jneunhor@sfu.ca

Manitoba

Centre on Aging, University of Manitoba
338 Isbister Building
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2
Tel: 204-474-8754
Fax: 204-474-7576

General information
aging@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Michelle Porter, Director
Tel.: 204-474-9176
Michelle.Porter@umanitoba.ca

Nicole Dunn, Associate Director
Tel.: 204- 474-6698
nicole.dunn@umanitoba.ca

Rachel Ines, Administration and Communications Coordinator
Tel.: 204-474-9854

Ontario

Centre for Education & Research on Aging and Health, Lakehead University
Health Services North
955 Oliver Road
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 5E1
Tel: 807-766-7271
Fax: 807-766-7222

General information
cerah@lakeheadu.ca

Dr. Kathy Kortes Miller, Director
kkortesm@lakeheadu.ca

Ontario

Canadian Centre for Activity and Aging, University of Western Ontario
1201 Western Road
London, ON N6G 1H1
Tel.: 519-661-1604
Fax: 519-661-1612

Dr. JB Orange, Scientific Director
Tel.: 519-661-2111 ext. 88921
jborange@uwo.ca

Shannon Belfry, Applied Research Coordinator
Tel.: 519-661-2029
shannon.belfry@uwo.ca

Ontario Network for Aging Research, University of Waterloo
Lyle Hallman Institute for Health Promotion
200 University Avenue West Waterloo, ON
N2L 3G1
Tel.: 519-888-4567, ext. 33160

Paul Stolee, Director
stolee@uwaterloo.ca

Sheila Bodemer, Program Coordinator
sbodemer@uwaterloo.ca

Ontario

Schlegel - University of Waterloo Research Institute for Aging
250 Laurelwood Drive
Waterloo, ON N2J 0E2
Tel.: 519-904-0660

General information
info@the-ria.ca

Tina M. Mah, Executive Director
tina.mah@the-ria.ca

Kate Wilson, Office Manager
kate.wilson@uwaterloo.ca

Ontario

McMaster Institute for Research on Aging (MIRA), McMaster University
(formerly McMaster Institute of Geroscience)
McMaster Innovation Park, Suite 109A
175 Longwood Road South
Hamilton, ON L8P 0A1
Tel: (905) 525-9140, ext. 21723

General information
MIRAinfo@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Parminder Raina, Scientific Director
Tel.: 905-525-9140, ext. 22197
praina@mcmaster.ca

Ine Wauben, Managing Director
Tel.: 905-525-9140, ext. 28658
wauben@mcmaster.ca

Alison Outtrim, Administrative Assistant
Tel.: 905-525-9140, ext. 21723
outtrima@mcmaster.ca

Ontario

Gilbrea Centre for Studies in Aging, McMaster University
Kenneth Taylor Hall, Room 204
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON L8S 4M4
Tel: 905-525-9140, ext. 24449
Fax: 905-525-4198

Dr. Gavin Andrews, Acting Director
andrews@mcmaster.ca

Equity Burke, Research Manager
burkee3@mcmaster.ca

Ontario

GERAS Centre for Aging Research
Hamilton Health Science & McMaster University
St Peter’s Hospital
88 Maplewood Ave
Hamilton, ON L8M 1W9
Tel: 905-521-2100 ext. 77715

General information
youngerin@hhsc.ca

Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou, Executive Director
papaioannou@hhsc.ca

Sherri Smith, Executive Assistant
smithsher@hhsc.ca

Ontario

Centre for Elder Research, Sheridan College
1430 Trafalger Road
Oakville, ON L6H 2L1
Tel: 905-845-9430, ext. 8615
Fax: 905-815-4233

Dr. Lia Tsotsos, Director
Tel.: 905-845-9430, ext. 2407
lia.tsotsos@sheridancollege.ca

Kate Dupuis, Ph.D., C.Psych., Schlegel Innovation Leader
Tel.: 905-845-9430 x 4229
kate.dupuis@sheridancollege.ca

Leigh Hayden, PhD, Project Coordinator
Tel.: 905-845-9430 x4282
leigh.hayden@sheridancollege.ca

Kathryn Warren-Norton, Communications/ Project Coordinator
Tel.: 905-845-9430 x 2978
kathryn.warrennorton1@sheridancolle

Ontario

Institute for Life Course and Aging, University of Toronto
263 McCaul Street, Suite 328
Toronto, ON M5T 3J1
Tel: 416-978-0377
Fax: 416-978-4771

Dr. Esme Fuller-Thomson, Director
esme.fuller.thomson@utoronto.ca

Susan Murphy, Director’s Assistant
susan.murphy@utoronto.ca

Ontario

York University Centre for Aging Research and Education (YU-CARE), York University
4700 Keele Street
Toronto, ON M3J 1P3
Tel: 416-736-2100, ext. 44037

Dr. Tamara Daly, Director
Tel.: 416-736-2100, ext. 30522
dalyt@yorku.ca

Ontario

Centre for Aging and Brain Health Innovation (CABHI), Baycrest Health Sciences
3560 Bathurst Street
Toronto, ON M6A 2E1
Tel.: 416-785-2500

General information
info@cabhi.com

Dr. Allison Sekuler, Managing Director
vpr@research.baycrest.org

Alisha Tharani, Manager of Strategic Partnerships
ATharani@cabhi.com

Ontario

National Institute on Ageing, Ryerson University
Ted Rogers School of Management
350 Victoria Street
Toronto, ON M5B 2K3

Michael Nicin, Executive Director
michael.nicin@ryerson.ca

Ontario

SE Research Centre, Saint Elizabeth Health Care
90 Allstate Parkway, Suite 300 Markham, ON
L3R 6H3
Te.l: 800-463-1763, ext. 146463

General information
research@sehc.com

Dr. Paul Holyoke, Director
PaulHolyoke@sehc.com

Justine Giosa, Manager, Research Operations
justinegiosa@sehc.com

Jessie Leitão, Senior Research Admin Assistant
jessieleitao@sehc.com

Ontario

Trent Centre for Aging and Society, Trent University
1600 West Bank Drive
Peterborough, ON K9J 7B8
Tel: 705-748-1011, ext. 6440
Fax: 705-748-1205

General information
aging@trentu.ca

Dr. Elizabeth Russell, Director
Tel.: 705-748-1011, ext. 7950

Amber Colibaba, Administrative Coordinator
Tel.: 705-748-1011, ext. 6440
aging@trentu.ca

Ontario

Bruyère Research Institute, University of Ottawa
43 Bruyère Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5C8
Tel: 613-562-6262, ext. 1515
Fax: 613-562-4266

General information
briirb@bruyere.org

Dr. Heidi Sveistrup, CEO & Chief Scientific Officer
Tel.: 613-562-6262, ext. 1457
hsveistrup@bruyere.org

Megan McIntosh, Executive Assistant and Finance Administrator
MMcIntosh@bruyere.org
Tel.: 613-562-6262 ext. 1615

Quebec

Quebec Network for Research on Aging / Réseau québécois de recherche sur le vieillissement (RQRV)
Centre de recherche du CHUM
900 St-Denis Street, Tour Viger, Room 05-436
Montreal, QC H2X 0A9
Tel.: 514-340-8222, ext. 4352

Website:
www.rqrv.com/en (English) or www.rqrv.com/fr (French)

 

General information
info@rqrv.com

Dr. Pierrette Gaudreau, Director
pierrette.gaudreau@umontreal.ca

Dr. José A. Morais, Assistant Director
jose.morais@mcgill.ca

Elizabeth Iacono, Coordinator
elizabeth.iacono@mail.mcgill.ca

Quebec

PERFORM Centre, Concordia University
7141 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, QC H4B 1R6
Tel: 514-848-4544
Fax: 514-848-4513

General information
performcentre@concordia.ca

Habib Benali, Scientific Director
Habib.Benali@concordia.ca

Lynn Roy
lynn.roy@concordia.ca

Quebec

Donald Berman Maimonides Centre for Research in Aging
5795 Caldwell Avenue
Montreal, QC H4W 1W3
Tel: 514-483-2121
Fax: 514-483-1561

Dr. Machelle Wilchesky, Director of Research
Tel: 514-483-2121, ext. 2346
machelle.wilchesky@mcgill.ca

Quebec

Centre de recherche et d’expertise en gérontologie sociale (CREGÉS), Centre intégré universitaire en santé et services sociaux du Centre-Ouest-de-l’île-de-Montréal (CIUSSS-CODIM) (French only)
CLSC René-Cassin
5800 Cavendish Boulevard
6th Floor, Suite 600
Côte St-Luc, Montreal, QC H4W 2T5
Tel: 514-484-7878, ext. 1463
Fax: 514-485-1612

General information
info@creges.ca

Maya Cerda, Manager maya.cerda.ccomtl@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Quebec

Centre de recherche de l’Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (CRIUGM)
4545 Queen Mary Road
Montreal, QC H3W 1W5
Tel: 514-340-3540
Fax: 514-340-2802

Pierre Rainville, Interim Scientific Director
pierre.rainville@umontreal.ca

Estelle Richard, Administrative Assistant
Estelle.Richard.ccsmtl@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Quebec

Centre of Excellence on Longevity, RUIS (Réseau Universitaire Intégré de Santé) McGill
Jewish General Hospital
3755 Côte-Ste-Catherine Road
Pavilion E, Room E-0012
Montreal, QC H3T 1E2
Tel: 514-340-8222, ext. 26120

Dr. Olivier Beauchet, Director
olivier.beauchet@mcgill.ca

Christiane Montpetit
christiane.montpetit.ccomtl@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Quebec

engAGE Centre for Research on Aging, Concordia University
1590 Doctor Penfield Avenue, Room 417
Montreal, QC H3G 1C5
Tel: 514-848-2424

General information
engage@concordia.ca

Dr. Karen Li, Director
Karen.Li@concordia.ca

Shannon Hebblethwaite, Director
shannon.hebblethwaite@concordia.ca
(Sabbatical - Fall 2021)

Dr. Laurel Young, Associate Director
Laurel.Young@concordia.ca

Quebec

Centre de médecine préventive et d'activité physique (Centre ÉPIC), Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal (in French only)
5000 Belanger, S-2581
Montreal, QC H1T 1C8

Tel.: 514-376-3330, ext. 2059

Dr. Louis Bherer, Research Director
louis.bherer@umontreal.ca

Quebec

McGill Centre for Studies in Aging (MCSA), Douglas Hospital
6825 LaSalle Boulevard
Verdun, QC H4H 1R3
Tel: 514-766-2010
Fax: 514-888-4050

General information
info.mcsa@mcgill.ca

Dr. Jens Pruessner, Director
jens.pruessner@mcgill.ca

Quebec

Centre de recherche sur le vieillissement / Research Centre on Aging, Université de Sherbrooke
Pavillon D’Youville
1036, rue Belvédère Sud
Sherbrooke, QC J1H 4C4
Tel: 819-829-7131
Fax: 819-829-7141

Dr. Isabelle Dionne, Scientific Director
Tel.: 819-780-2220, ext. 45633

Mylène Lafrance, Interim Executive Scientific Assistant
Tel.: 819-780-2220, ext. 45643

Quebec

Institut sur le vieillissement et la participation sociale des aînés (IVPSA), Université Laval (French only)
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
1050, chemin Sainte-Foy, bureau L2-42 (coordination)
Québec, QC, G1S 4L8
Tel: 418-682-7511, ext. 84847
Fax: 418-682-7998

Dr. André Tourigny, Director
andre.tourigny.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Dr. Bernadette Dallaire, Co-Director
bernadette.dallaire@tsc.ulaval.ca

Solange Proulx, Coordinator
Tel.: 418-682-7511, ext. 84847
solange.proulx.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Quebec

Centre d’excellence sur le vieillissement de Québec (CEVQ), Université Laval
CHU de Québec, Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
1050, Chemin Sainte-Foy Québec, QC, G1S 4L8
Tel: 418-682-7881
Fax: 418-682-7998

General information
cevq.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Dr. Pierre Durand, Scientific Director
Tel.: 418-682-7511, ext. 4859
pierre.durand@fmed.ulaval.ca

New Brunswick

Third Age Centre, St. Thomas University
Brian Mulroney Hall, Room 101
Fredericton, NB E3B 5G3
Tel: 506-452-0526
Fax: 506-452-0611

General information
3rdage@stu.ca

New Brunswick

The Fredericton 80+ Study
c/o Department of Gerontology
Fredericton, NB E3B 5G3
Tel: 506-452-0516
Fax: 506-452-0611

William L. Randall, Project Director
brandall@stu.ca

New Brunswick

Centre d'études du vieillissement
Université de Moncton
Pavillon Léopold-Taillon
18 Antonine-Maillet Avenue
Moncton, NB E1A 3E9
Tel: 506-858-4673
Fax: 506-858-4017

Dr. Suzanne Dupuis-Blanchard, Director
suzanne.dupuis-blanchard@umoncton.ca

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia Centre on Aging, Mount Saint Vincent University
166 Bedford Highway
Halifax, NS B3M 2J6
Tel: 902-457-6546
Fax: 902-457-6508

General information
nsca@msvu.ca

Dr. Janice Keefe, Director
janice.keefe@msvu.ca

Pamela Fancey, Associate Director
pamela.fancey@msvu.ca

Paula Richardson, Project Coordinator
Paula.richardson@msvu.ca

Tressie Dutchyn, Project Coordinator
Tressie.dutchyn@msvu.ca

Donna Fraser, Administrative Assistant
donna.fraser@msvu.ca

Nova Scotia

Global Aging and Community Initiative, Mount Saint Vincent University
166 Bedford Highway McCain Centre, Room 201E Halifax, NS
B3M 2J6
Tel.: 902-457-5552

General Information
gaci@msvu.ca

Dr. Zachary Zimmer, Director
zachary.zimmer@msvu.ca

Renee Field, Research Program Manager
renee.field@msvu.ca

Nova Scotia

Maritime Data Centre for Aging Research & Policy Analysis, Mount Saint Vincent University
166 Bedford Highway
Halifax, NS B3M 2J6
Tel.: 902-457-6780
Fax: 902-457-6226

General Information
mdc_aging@msvu.ca

Dr. Janice Keefe, Associate Professor & Canada Research Chair in Aging & Caregiving Policy
janice.keefe@msvu.ca

Newfoundland and Labrador

Newfoundland & Labrador Centre for Applied Health Research – Research Exchange Group on Aging, Memorial University

Dr. Gail Wideman, Group Convenor
gwideman@mun.ca

Dr. Sharon Buehler, Group Convenor

Newfoundland and Labrador

Aging Research Centre – Newfoundland and Labrador (ARC-NL), Memorial University of Newfoundland
Grenfell Campus
Forestry Centre Building, FC4022
20 University Drive
Corner Brook, NL A2H 5G4
Tel.: 709-639-4872

General Information
arc@grenfell.mun.ca

Dr. Veronica Hutchings, Director
vhutchings@grenfell.mun.ca

Dr. Karen Doody, Coordinator
kdoody@grenfell.mun.ca

Saskatchewan

Centre on Aging and Health, University of Regina
University of Regina
Regina, SK S4S 0A2
Tel: 306-337-2537
Fax: 306-337-2321

General information
cah@uregina.ca

Dr. Thomas Hadjistavropoulos, Director
thomas.hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca

Date modified: