Canadian Research Centres on Aging & Other Associations

Province Centre Contacts
British Columbia Institute on Aging & Lifelong Health, University of Victoria
(formerly Centre on Aging)
P.O. Box 1700 Stn, CSC
Office: R Hut, Room 103
Victoria, BC V8W 2Y2
Tel: 250-721-6369 or
250-721-6575
Fax: 250-721-6499

Dr. Scott Hofer, Director
IALHDirector@uvic.ca 
smhofer@uvic.ca

Leah M. Potter, Administrator
lmpotter@uvic.ca

British Columbia

The Gerontology Research Centre, Simon Fraser University at Harbour Centre
2800-515 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 5K3
Tel: 604-291-5062
Fax: 604-291-5066

General information
gero@sfu.ca

Dr. Andrew Wister, Director
wister@sfu.ca

British Columbia Science and Technology for Aging Research (STAR) Institute, Simon Fraser University Surrey Campus
Digital Health Hub
Central City Shopping Centre
13450 – 102nd Avenue, Suite 250
Surrey, BC V3T 0A3
Tel: 778-782-3111

General information
starinst@sfu.ca

Dr. Andrew Sixsmith, Director
ajs16@sfu.ca

Dr. Carolyn Sparrey, Associate Director
csparrey@sfu.ca

Dr. Sylvain Moreno, Associate Director
sylvainm@sfu.ca

Juliet Neun-Hornick, Administrative Coordinator
jneunhor@sfu.ca

Alberta Brenda Stafford Centre on Aging, O’Brien Institute for Public Health, University of Calgary
TRW 3E12, 3280 Hospital Drive NW
Calgary, AB T2N 4Z6
Tel: 403-210-7208
Fax: 403-210-3808

General information
bscoa@ucalgary.ca

Dr. David Hogan, Academic Lead
dhogan@ucalgary.ca

Ann Toohey, Scientific Coordinator
amtoohey@ucalgary.ca

Saskatchewan

Centre on Aging and Health, University of Regina
University of Regina
Regina, SK S4S 0A2
Tel: 306-337-2537 
Fax: 306-337-2321

General information
cah@uregina.ca

Dr. Thomas Hadjistavropoulos, Director
thomas.hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca
Manitoba Centre on Aging, University of Manitoba
338 Isbister Building
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2
Tel: 204-474-8754
Fax: 204-474-7576

General information
aging@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Michelle Porter, Director
Tel.: 204-474-9176
Michelle.Porter@umanitoba.ca

Catherine Jacob, Administrative Coordinator
Tel.: 204-474-8731 
catherine.jacob@ad.umanitoba.ca
Ontario

Centre for Education & Research on Aging and Health, Lakehead University
Health Services North
955 Oliver Road
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 5E1
Tel: 807-766-7271
Fax: 807-766-7222

General information
cerah@lakeheadu.ca

Dr. Ian Newhouse, Director
inewhous@lakeheadu.ca
Ontario Canadian Centre for Activity and Aging, University of Western Ontario
1490 Richmond Street
London, ON N6G 2M3
Tel: 519-661-1604
Fax: 519-661-1612

Dr. Charles Rice , Research Director
Tel.: 519-661-1606, ext. 81628
crice@uwo.ca

Dr. Clara Fitzgerald , Director
cfitzge4@uwo.ca

Shannon Belfry , Applied Research Coordinator
Tel.: 519-661-1633
shannon.belfry@uwo.ca
Ontario Centre for Population, Aging & Health Research, University of Western Ontario
Room 5211, Social Sciences Centre
University of Western Ontario
London, ON N6A 5C2
Tel: 519-661-2111, ext. 84717
Dr. Andrea Willson, Director
willson@uwo.ca
Ontario Schlegel - University of Waterloo Research Institute for Aging
250 Laurelwood Drive
Waterloo, ON N2J 0E2
Tel.: 519-904-0660

General information
info@the-ria.ca

Josie d'Avernas, Executive Director
josie.davernas@uwaterloo.ca

Kate Wilson, Office Manager
kate.wilson@uwaterloo.ca
Ontario McMaster Institute for Research on Aging (MIRA), McMaster University
(formerly McMaster Institute of Geroscience)
McMaster Innovation Park, Suite 109A
175 Longwood Road South
Hamilton, ON L8P 0A1
Tel: (905) 525-9140, ext. 21723

General information
MIRAinfo@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Parminder Raina, Scientific Director
Tel.: 905-525-9140, ext. 22197
praina@mcmaster.ca

Laura Harrington, Managing Director
Tel.: 905-525-9140, ext. 28658
harrinl@mcmaster.ca

Rebecca ​Dunn, Administrative Assistant
Te.l: 905-525-9140, ext. 21723
dunnr2@mcmaster.ca

Ontario Gilbrea Centre for Studies in Aging, McMaster University
Kenneth Taylor Hall, Room 204
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON L8S 4M4
Tel: 905-525-9140, ext. 24449
Fax: 905-525-4198

Dr. Amanda Grenier, Director
grenier@mcmaster.ca

Amanda Bradford-Janke, Research Manager
bradfor@mcmaster.ca
Ontario Centre for Elder Research, Sheridan College
1430 Trafalger Road
Oakville, ON L6H 2L1
Tel: 905-845-9430, ext. 8615
Fax: 905-815-4233
Dr. Lia Tsotsos, Director
Tel: 905-845-9430, ext. 2407
lia.tsotsos@sheridancollege.ca
Ontario Institute for Life Course and Aging, University of Toronto
263 McCaul Street, Suite 328
Toronto, ON M5T 3J1
Tel: 416-978-0377
Fax: 416-978-4771

Dr. Esme Fuller-Thomson, Director
esme.fuller.thomson@utoronto.ca

Susan Murphy, Director’s Assistant
susan.murphy@utoronto.ca 

Ontario York Uuniversity Centre for Aging Research and Education (YU-CARE), York University
4700 Keele Street
Toronto, ON M3J 1P3
Tel: 416-736-2100, ext. 44037

Dr. Tamara Daly, Director
Tel.: 416-736-2100, ext. 30522
dalyt@yorku.ca

Ontario Rotman Research Institute, Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care
3560 Bathurst Street
Toronto, ON M6A 2E1
Tel.: 416-785-2500 ext. 3522

Dr. Allison Sekuler, VP of Research
vpr@research.baycrest.org

Laura Wong-Ribeiro, Executive Assistant
lwong-ribeiro@research.baycrest.org

Ontario National Institute on Ageing, Ryerson University
Ted Rogers School of Management
350 Victoria Street
Toronto, ON M5B 2K3
Stephanie Woodward, Executive Director
stephanie.woodward@ryerson.ca
Ontario Trent Centre for Aging and Society, Trent University
1600 West Bank Drive
Peterborough, ON K9J 7B8
Tel: 705-748-1011, ext. 6440
Fax: 705-748-1205

General information
aging@trentu.ca

Dr. Mark Skinner, Director
Tel: 705-748-1011, ext. 7946
markskinner@trentu.ca
Ontario Elizabeth Bruyère Research Institute, University of Ottawa 
43 Bruyère Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5C8
Tel: 613-562-6262, ext. 1515
Fax: 613-562-4266

General information
briirb@bruyere.org

Dr. Peter Walker, CEO & Scientific Director
Tel: 613-562-6262, ext. 4060
walkerp47@gmail.com
Quebec

PERFORM Centre, Concordia University   
7141 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, QC H4B 1R6
Tel: 514-848-4544
Fax: 514-848-4513

General information
performcentre@concordia.ca

Habib Benali, Interim Scientific Director
Habib.Benali@concordia.ca

Louis Bherer, Associate Scientific Director
louis.bherer@concordia.ca

Quebec Donald Berman Maimonides Centre for Research in Aging
5795 Caldwell Avenue
Montreal, QC H4W 1W3
Tel: 514-483-2121
Fax: 514-483-1561

Dr. Machelle Wilchesky, Director of Research
Tel: 514-483-2121, ext. 2346
machelle.wilchesky@mcgill.ca

Quebec Centre de recherche et d’expertise en gérontologie sociale (CREGÉS) (French only)
CSSS Cavendish, Centre affilié universitaire, Site CLSC René-Cassin
5800 Cavendish Boulevard, 6th Floor
Côte St-Luc, QC H4W 2T5
Tel: 514-484-7878, ext. 1463
Fax: 514-485-1612

General information
info@creges.ca

Patrik Marier, Scientific Director
patrik.marier@concordia.ca

Quebec Centre de recherche de l’Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (CRIUGM)
4545 Queen Mary Road
Montreal, QC H3W 1W5
Tel: 514-340-3540
Fax: 514-340-2802

Dr. Sylvie Belleville, Director of Research
sylvie.belleville@umontreal.ca

Émilie Dessureault, Administrative Assistant
emilie.dessureault@criugm.qc.ca

Quebec Centre of Excellence on Longevity, RUIS (Réseau Universitaire Intégré de Santé) McGill
Jewish General Hospital
3755 Côte-Ste-Catherine Road
Pavilion E, Room E-0012
Montreal, QC H3T 1E2
Tel: 514-340-8222, ext. 26120

Dr. Olivier Beauchet, Director
olivier.beauchet@mcgill.ca

Christine Vilcocq, Director of Public Relations & Partnerships
christine.vilcocq@mail.mcgill.ca

Quebec

engAGE Centre for Research on Aging, Concordia University
1590 Doctor Penfield Avenue, Room 417
Montreal, QC H3G 1C5
Tel: 514-848-2424

Shannon Hebblethwaite, Director
shannon.hebblethwaite@concordia.ca

General information
engage@concordia.ca

Quebec McGill Centre for Studies in Aging (MCSA), Douglas Hospital
6825 LaSalle Boulevard
Verdun, QC H4H 1R3
Tel: 514-766-2010
Fax: 514-888-4050

General information
info.mcsa@mcgill.ca

Dr. Jens Pruessner, Director
jens.pruessner@mcgill.ca
Quebec Centre de recherche sur le vieillissement / Research Centre on Aging, Université de Sherbrooke
Pavillon D’Youville
1036, rue Belvédère Sud
Sherbrooke, QC J1H 4C4
Tel: 819-829-7131
Fax: 819-829-7141

Dr. Nicole Dubuc, Director
Tel.: 819-780-2220, ext. 45633
Nicole.Dubuc@USherbrooke.ca

Nathalie Malo, Executive Scientific Assistant
Tel.: 819-780-2220, ext. 45643
Nathalie.Malo@USherbrooke.ca

Quebec Institut sur le vieillissement et la participation sociale des aînés (IVPSA), Université Laval (French only)
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
1050, chemin Sainte-Foy, bureau L2-42 (coordination)
Québec, QC, G1S 4L8
Tel: 418-682-7511, ext. 84847
Fax: 418-682-7998

Dr. André Tourigny, Director
andre.tourigny.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Dr. Andrée Sévigny, Co-Director
andree.sevigny.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Solange Proulx, Coordinator
Tel.: 418-682-7511, ext. 84847
solange.proulx.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Quebec Centre d’excellence sur le vieillissement de Québec (CEVQ), Université Laval
CHU de Québec, Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
1050, Chemin Sainte-Foy Québec, QC, G1S 4L8
Tel: 418-682-7881
Fax: 418-682-7998

General information
cevq.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Dr. Pierre Durand, Scientific Director
Tel.: 418-682-7511, ext. 4859
pierre.durand@fmed.ulaval.ca
New Brunswick Third Age Centre, St. Thomas University
Brian Mulroney Hall, Room 101
Fredericton, NB E3B 5G3
Tel: 506-452-0526
Fax: 506-452-0611
General information
3rdage@stu.ca
New Brunswick The Fredericton 80+ Study
c/o Department of Gerontology
Fredericton, NB E3B 5G3
Tel: 506-452-0516
Fax: 506-452-0611
William L. Randall, Project Director
brandall@stu.ca
New Brunswick Centre d'études du vieillissement
Université de Moncton
Pavillon Léopold-Taillon
18 Antonine-Maillet Avenue
Moncton, NB E1A 3E9
Tel: 506-858-4673
Fax: 506-858-4017
Dr. Suzanne Dupuis-Blanchard, Director
suzanne.dupuis-blanchard@umoncton.ca
Nova Scotia Nova Scotia Centre on Aging, Mount Saint Vincent University
166 Bedford Highway
Halifax, NS B3M 2J6
Tel: 902-457-6546
Fax: 902-457-6508

General information
nsca@msvu.ca

Dr. Janice Keefe, Director
janice.keefe@msvu.ca

Pamela Fancey, Associate Director
pamela.fancey@msvu.ca

Donna Fraser, Administrative Assistant
donna.fraser@msvu.ca

Global Aging and Community Initiative
Dr. Zachary Zimmer, Director
zachary.zimmer@msvu.ca

Brittney Roughan, Program Manager
Brittney.Roughan@msvu.ca

Nova Scotia Maritime Data Centre for Aging Research & Policy Analysis, Mount Saint Vincent University
166 Bedford Highway
Halifax, NS B3M 2J6
Tel: 902-457-6780
Fax: 902-457-6226

General information
mdc_aging@msvu.ca

Dr. Janice Keefe, Associate Professor & Canada Research Chair in Aging & Caregiving Policy
janice.keefe@msvu.ca
Prince Edward Island Prince Edward Island Centre on Health & Aging
University of Prince Edward Island
550 University Avenue
Charlottetown, PEI C1A 4P3
Tel: 902-368-9008 / 902-566-0737
Fax: 902-368-9006
Olive Bryanton
Tel.: 902-894-2841
obryanton@upei.ca
Newfoundland and Labrador

Newfoundland & Labrador Centre for Applied Health Research – Research Exchange Group on Aging, Memorial University

Dr. Gail Wideman , Group Convenor
gwideman@mun.ca

Dr. Sharon Buehler, Group Convenor
Other interested organizations

Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)
Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Branch
Aging, Seniors and Dementia Division – Seniors Policy Unit
785 Carling Avenue
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K9
Tel: 613- 797-9182

Franca Gatto, Director
franca.gatto@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Patti Gorr, Senior Policy Analyst
patti.gorr@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Simone Powell, Senior Policy Analyst
Simone.Powell@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Jane Swan, NGO Liaison Officer
jane.swan@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Date modified: