INMD Institute Advisory Board Members

Julie Ho (Chair)
Departments of Internal Medicine & Immunology
Sections of Nephrology and Biomedical Proteomics
College of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Manitoba

André Tchernof (Vice-Chair)
Professor, School of Nutrition, Laval University
Co-Director, Research Chair in Bariatric and Metabolic Surgery, Obesity Tissue Biobank and Obesity Research Division, Quebec Heart and Lung Institute
Principal Investigator, Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant on bariatric care - the REMISSION study

Eric Benchimol
Professor, Department of Paediatrics and Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto
Senior Scientist, Child Health Evaluative Sciences, SickKids Research Institute
Senior Core Scientist, ICES

William Cefalu
Director, Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolic Diseases
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
National Institutes of Health

Treena Delormier
Associate Professor, School of Human Nutrition, McGill University
Canada Research Chair, (Tier II) in Indigenous Peoples Nutrition and Food Sovereignty
Associate Director, Centre for Indigenous Peoples’ Nutrition & Environnent (CINE)
Scientific Director, Kahnawake Schools Diabetes Prevention Project (KSDPP)

Lakshman Gunaratnam
Associate Professor, Schulich School of Medicine Dentistry, Western University
Dr. Robert Zhong Chair in Translational Transplant Research
Medical Director - Multi-Organ Transplant Program, London Health Sciences Centre

Sharon Kirkpatrick
Associate Professor and University Research Chair, School of Public Health Sciences, University of Waterloo

Vasanti S. Malik
Assistant Professor and Canada Research Chair in Nutrition and Chronic Disease Prevention, Department of Nutritional Sciences, University of Toronto
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Nutrition, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Erin Mulvihill
Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, University of Ottawa
Scientist, University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Marc Prentki
Professor of Nutrition, Université de Montréal
Director, Montreal Diabetes Research Center (MDRC)

Christopher Rose
Research Professor, Department of Medicine, Université de Montréal
Director, Hepato-Neuro Laboratory, Centre de Recherche du Centre Hospitalier de Université de Montréal (CRCHUM)

Craig Settee
Manager, Cultural Competency, Can-SOLVE CKD Network

Laura Sly
Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Gastroenterology, BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute, University of British Columbia

Laura Syron
President & CEO, Diabetes Canada
Transformational Not-for-Profit Executive

Date modified: