Standing Committee on Ethics

The Standing Committee on Ethics identifies for the Governing Council emerging ethical issues of strategic relevance with respect to health and health research. It provides the Governing Council with high-level strategic advice on the ethical, legal and socio-cultural dimensions of CIHR's mandate as set out in the CIHR Act, at its initiative or at the request of the Governing Council or the President.


Marcello Tonelli
Senior Associate Dean (Health Research)
Associate Vice President (Health Research)
Cumming School of Medicine

Judy Illes
Professor of Neurology and Canada Research Chair in Neuroethics at University of British Columbia (UBC) and Director of Neuroethics Canada (formerly, the National Core for Neuroethics, UBC)

Angus Dawson
Professor of Bioethics and Director of Sydney Health Ethics (formerly, the Centre for Values, Ethics and Law in Medicine) at the University of Sydney

Christine Chambers
Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Children’s Pain
Killam Professor in the departments of Psychology & Neuroscience and Pediatrics at Dalhousie University

Nicolas Fernandez
Professor, Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal

Chelsea Gabel
Associate Professor, Faculty of Social Sciences, McMaster University

Steven J. Hoffman
Scientific Director, Institute of Population and Public Health
Director of the Global Strategy Lab
Professor of Global Health, Law, and Political Science at York University

Cheryl Koehn
Founder and President
Arthritis Consumer Experts

Eric Racine
Director of the Pragmatic Health Ethics Research Unit and Full Research Professor at the IRCM (Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal)

Vardit Ravitsky
Full Professor, Bioethics Programs
School of Public Health
University of Montreal

Benjamin Wilfond
Director, Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics and
Pulmonologist, Seattle Children’s Hospital
Professor and Chief, Division of Bioethics, Department of Pediatrics
University of Washington School of Medicine

Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Members

Alison Bourgon
Acting Director General
Science Policy

Tammy J Clifford
Vice-President, Research Programs, CIHR

Michael Strong
President, CIHR

Susan Zimmerman
Executive Director, Secretariat on Responsible Conduct of Research

Date modified: