IAB on Indigenous Peoples’ Health

The IAB on Indigenous Peoples' Health provides advice on supporting the health and wellness of Indigenous peoples through shared research leadership throughout CIHR and on building the strategic alliances to transcend traditional boundaries and establish culturally sensitive policies and interventions.

*Three seats have been reserved for a member to be selected by each of the National Aboriginal Organizations: the Assembly of First Nations (AFN), the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) and the Métis National Council (MNC). The names of the members selected by the AFN and the MNC will be released as soon as they are officially communicated to CIHR.

Jeffrey Cyr, Chair
Former Executive Director
National Association of Friendship Centres

Simon Brascoupé
Adjunct Research Professor
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Carleton University
Adjunct Professor
Department of Indigenous Studies
Trent University

Sheila Carter
Health & Wellness Department
Manitoba Metis Federation

Wayne Clark
Aboriginal Health Programs - Health Services
Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

Sharon P. Edmunds, B. SOC. SCI
Senior Research Advisor
Social and Cultural Development Department
Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.

Pierre S. Haddad, PhD
Tenured Professor
Department of Pharmacology
Université de Montréal

Henry Harder
Professor and Past Chair
School of Health Sciences
University of Northern British Columbia

Mabel Lena Horton, B.A., M.P.A
Retired Nurse and Health Consultant

Debbie Martin
Associate Professor
Faculty of Health Professions
Dalhousie University

Janet McElhaney, MD, FRCPC, FACP
HSN Volunteer Association
Vice-President, Research and Scientific Director
Health Sciences North Research Institute
Professor of Medicine
Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Margaret Robinson
Assistant Professor, Indigenous Studies Program
Deparment of Sociology & Social Anthropology
Dalhousie University
Affiliate Scientist, Centre for Addiction & Mental Health

Gail Turner
Former Director, Health Services
Nunatsiavut Government
Northern Labrador

Date modified: