2016 CIHR-IHSPR/CAHSPR Student Poster Competition Prize Winners

Each year at the Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research (CAHSPR) conference IHSPR sponsors a Student Poster Competition. This competition is designed to encourage graduate students to attend and showcase their work at CAHSPR, Canada's pre-eminent health services and policy research conference, and to recognize the outstanding research efforts of up-and-coming health services and policy researchers.

Prizes are awarded to the three top-ranked posters in the amounts of $1,200, $ 1,000, and $ 800, for first, second and third prize respectively. Posters are reviewed by a team of expert reviewers who each devote their time and effort to conducting the reviews.

CAHSPR and IHSPR would like to congratulate the winners of the 2016 CIHR-IHSPR/CAHSPR Student Poster Competition:

  • First Prize: Deepa Singal from the University of Manitoba for her poster “Neonatal and Childhood Neurodevelopmental, Health and Education Outcomes of Children Exposed to Antidepressants and Maternal Depression During Pregnancy: Study Protocol.”
  • Second Prize: Maggie McNeil from the University of Waterloo for her poster “Enabling health technology innovation for older adults: Barriers and facilitators in policy and regulatory processes.”
  • Third Prize: Bruno Riverin Deschênes from McGill University for his poster “The effect of timely outpatient follow-up after hospital discharge on 30-day readmission: an analysis using time-specific propensity scores”

Winners are encouraged to use their prize money to further their careers in health services and policy research. Congratulations to our winners and we look forward to seeing you at next year's CAHSPR conference!

IHSPR wishes to extend its sincere thanks and appreciation to the 2016 CIHR-IHSPR/CAHSPR Student Poster Competition Reviewers:

  • Fatou Bagayogo
  • Stephen Bornstein
  • Hilary Brown
  • Stirling Bryan
  • Yi-Sheng Chao
  • Maria Chiu
  • Janet Jull
  • Susan Law
  • Grace Kyoon-Achan
  • Nancy Mason-McLellan
  • Aude Motulsky
  • Daniel Niven
  • Behnam Sharif
  • Joanna Sinn
  • Kate Smolina
  • Walter Wodchis
Date modified: