Jane E. Aubin receives award from International Bone and Mineral Society

Photo: Dr. Roger Bouillon, IBMS Immediate Past-President, and Dr. Jane E. Aubin.

On May 29, Dr. Jane E. Aubin, CIHR’s Executive Vice-President, Chief Scientific Officer and Vice-President of Research and Knowledge Translation, received the 2013 Pieter Gaillard Founders Award at the joint Japanese Society for Bone and Mineral Research (JSBMR) and International Bone and Mineral Society (IBMS) meeting in Kobe, Japan.

Named after a Dutch scientist and pioneer in bone cell biology, this biennial IBMS award recognizes Dr. Aubin’s research leadership in mesenchymal stem cells and osteoprogenitor cells, her prolific role as the author of over 200 peer-reviewed papers and book chapters, her mentorship of over 85 undergraduate/graduate students/postdoctoral fellows, and her former position as scientific director and CEO of Canadian Arthritis Network of Centres of Excellence.

The award also commends Dr. Aubin’s service to the field of bone and mineral research as President of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (1998-99) and the first female President of the International Bone and Mineral Society (2007-09), her contributions as editor of various specialty bone journals, and the longstanding roles she has held on numerous grant and advisory panels.

Congratulations Dr. Aubin!

Date modified: