Annual Report 2008-2009

Research with Impact

[ Table of Contents ]

Providing Stewardship and Accountability

CIHR Governing Council

CIHR reports to Parliament through the Minister of Health. Its Governing Council comprises 20 Canadians who have been appointed by Order in Council to renewable three-year terms. Council members represent a wide range of backgrounds and disciplines, reflecting CIHR's broad mandate and vision.

CIHR Executive Management Team

CIHR's Executive Management Team provides leadership and decision-making for strategic, corporate policy and management areas that support and contribute to the strategic directions set out by the Governing Council.

CIHR Institutes

CIHR is composed of 13 innovative Institutes. These Institutes bring together all partners in the research process – those who fund research, those who carry it out and those who use its results – to share ideas and focus on what Canadians need – good health and the means to prevent and fight diseases when they happen.

Each Institute is headed by a Scientific Director who is a leader in his or her field. Scientific Directors receive guidance from their Institute Advisory Boards, made up of volunteers from all areas of the health research community.

CIHR Governing Council, 2008–09

Dr. Alain Beaudet
(as of July 2008)
Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Mr. H. Arnold Steinberg
(Chair, November 2007 – June 2008)
Cleman Ludmer Steinberg, Inc.
McGill University Health Centre Foundation
MUHC Research Institute and Canadian
Patient Safety Institute

Mr. Keith G. Anderson
Senior Policy Advisor
British Columbia Ministry of Health
Adjunct Professor
Department of Gerontology
Simon Fraser University

Dr. James Brien
Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Director of Research
Faculty of Health Sciences
Queen's University

Dr. Michel Bureau
(until August 2008)
Faculty of Medicine
University of Sherbrooke
Director General
Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec

Dr. Harvey Max Chochinov
Canada Research Chair in Palliative Care
Professor of Psychiatry
University of Manitoba and
CancerCare Manitoba

Dr. Brett B. Finlay
Michael Smith Laboratories
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of British Columbia

Dr. Nicole Letourneau
Faculty of Nursing
University of New Brunswick

Dr. Christopher W. Loomis
Vice-President (Academic) Pro Tempore
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Dr. Patrick John McGrath
Vice-President Research
IWK Health Centre
Professor of Psychology, Pediatrics and Psychiatry
Dalhousie University

Dr. Arthur Porter
(until September 2008)
Director-General and CEO
McGill University Health Centre

Dr. Ray Rajotte
Professor of Surgery and Medicine
Surgical-Medical Research Institute
Islet Transplantation Group
University of Alberta

Dr. Carol Richards
(until August 2008)
Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Rehabilitation and Social Integration
Quebec Rehabilitation Institute
Department of Rehabilitation
Faculty of Medicine
Laval University

Mr. Morris Rosenberg
Deputy Minister
Health Canada

Dr. Janet Rossant
Chief of Research
Hospital for Sick Children
Department of Medical Genetics and Microbiology
University of Toronto

Dr. Jean L. Rouleau
Dean of Medicine
University of Montreal

Dr. Robert S. Sheldon
Professor of Cardiac Sciences, Medicine and Medical Genetics
Associate Dean of Clinical Research
University of Calgary
Vice-President Research
Calgary Health Region

Dr. Bill Thomlinson
Executive Director
Canadian Light Source Inc.
University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Cornelia Weiman
Indigenous Health Research Development Program
Assistant Professor
Department of Public Health Sciences
Faculty of Medicine
University of Toronto

Dr. Pierre Chartrand
(until June 2008)
Acting President
Canadian Institutes of Health Research

CIHR Executive Management Team

Dr. Alain Beaudet

Ms. Christine Fitzgerald
Executive Vice-President

Dr. Ian Graham
Vice-President, Knowledge Translation

Dr. Pierre Chartrand
Vice-President, Research

Mr. James Roberge
Chief Financial Officer
Vice-President, Resource
Planning and Management

CIHR Institutes

CIHR Institute of Aboriginal Peoples' Health

Dr. Jeff Reading
(until December 2008)
University of Victoria

Dr. Malcolm King
(as of January 2009)
University of Alberta

CIHR Institute of Aging

Dr. Anne Martin-Matthews
University of British Columbia

CIHR Institute of Cancer Research

Dr. Philip Branton
(until July 2008)
McGill University

Dr. Morag Park
(as of August 2008)
McGill University

CIHR Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health

Dr. Peter Liu
University Health Network
University of Toronto

CIHR Institute of Gender and Health

Dr. Joy Johnson
University of British Columbia

CIHR Institute of Genetics

Dr. Roderick McInnes
Hospital for Sick Children
University of Toronto

CIHR Institute of Health Services and Policy Research

Dr. Colleen M. Flood
University of Toronto

CIHR Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health

Dr. Michael Kramer
Montreal Children's Hospital
McGill University

CIHR Institute of Infection and Immunity

Dr. Bhagirath Singh
University of Western Ontario

CIHR Institute of Musculoskeletal Health and Arthritis

Dr. Jane Aubin
University of Toronto

CIHR Institute of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction

Dr. Rémi Quirion
(until March 2009)
Douglas Hospital Research Centre
McGill University

Dr. Anthony Phillips
(as of April 2009)
University of British Columbia

CIHR Institute of Nutrition, Metabolism and Diabetes

Dr. Diane Finegood
(until December 2008)
Simon Fraser University

Dr. Philip Sherman
(as of January 2009)
University of Toronto

CIHR Institute of Population and Public Health

Dr. John Frank
(until June 2008)
University of Toronto

Dr. Nancy Edwards
(as of July 2008)
University of Ottawa

Date modified: